Quotes with Resistance & Support
Market Information

World’s biggest electoral battle kicks off on April 7

This article was posted on Mar 6, 2014 and is filed under Market News

The Election Commission on Wednesday announced a nine-phase polling schedule for 814 million eligible voters to elect the 16th Lok Sabha. The first day of polling will be on April 7 and the last on May 12. Counting of votes will take place on May 16.

A snapshot of the schedule, along with the number of seats going to polls on each of the nine days in various states and UTs:

Besides the Lok Sabha, electors in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim will also vote to elect new Assemblies during this period.

Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, which together account for 120 Lok Sabha seats, will have the longest election schedule, spread over six polling days. West Bengal (42 seats) and Jammu & Kashmir (six seats) will vote over five days, while Assam, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra will vote over three polling days. All Naxal-affected areas will have single-day polling schedule.

Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath said the polling days or phases had increased from the previous Lok Sabha elections in 2009 but the span of the poll schedule had been lowered by three days to 72 days.

Source: Business Standard

Similar Posts: